Two Candles

Every night I am home I light two candles on my windowsill. One is a candle asking God to give me strength to persevere through these hard times. The second is a candle I light for all our people who suffer so deeply in this, the darkest night, in the Vanni.

I cry aloud to God,
cry to God to hear me.

On the day of my distress I seek the Lord;
by night my hands are raised unceasingly;
I refuse to be consoled….

“Will the Lord reject us forever,
never again show favor?
Has God’s love ceased forever?
Has the promise failed for all ages?
Had God forgotten mercy.
In anger withheld compassion?”

I conclude: “My sorrow is this,
the right hand of the Most High has left us.”
I will remember the deeds of the LORD;
yes, your wonders of old I will remember.
I will recite all your works;
your exploits I will tell.

Your way, O God, is holy;
What god is as great as our God?…

Psalm 77 (76)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

