Post-Colonialism Vs. Marxism; Say It Isn’t So!

Here is a bit of an academic dust-up between Terry Eagleton, one of the leading figures of academic Marxism and Marxist literary critique, and Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, one of the leading theoreticians for Post-Colonial theory. I’m a little torn up by this because I specialize in Post-Colonial literature while being a Marxist. Having seen the brand of activism based on this kind of Post-Colonialism, I have to admit I lean in favour of Terry Eagleton’s critique, but I actually want to read A Critique of Post-Colonial Reason: Toward a History of the Vanishing Present before I make a call on it myself. That being said I am not looking forward to reading through lines such as ‘many of us are trying to carve out positive negotiations with the epistemic graphing of imperialism’, but then again having survived Badiou and Zizek, I shouldn’t punk out now.

இனிய தமிழ் புத்தாண்டு & தைப்பொங்கல் நல்வாழ்த்துக்கள் !
Happy Tamil New Year & Thai Pongal!

This entry was posted in Culture, Literature, Politics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

