Tamil Mother of Two Deported: January 26th 2014

Translation & Transcription (Credits: Myself; Sinthujan; Mayuran)
(00:00)
Woman: The case now happened in 2013 may and was rejected, we put an reapply [appeal] which was also rejected, and we asked for a stay order, and I don’t know, and now without my children …. [sobbing] I don’t know how to leave [sobbing]…
(00:30)
Interviewer: When did you get your notice
Woman: January 9
Interviewer: When did you come to Canada
Woman: 2008 December 14
(00:45)
Interviewer: Your children were born here?
Woman: One person was born in India, second daughter was born in Canada
Interviewer: So both are Canadian citizens?
Woman: Yea, both have Canadian citizenship
Interviewer: What reason have they said about you being [deported]
(01:00)
Woman: Over there is no problem over there, so you can’t stay, and you have to go back
Interviewer: What did they say about the children?
Woman: I asked the children are citizens what should I do and they said “I can do what I wish, if I wish I can leave them behind, or if I wish I can take them back”, about that they don’t care.
(01:15)
Interviewer: Under what hope are you going
Woman: I have no hope. [sobbing] The children are crying “mom don’t leave” [sobbing]
Interviewer [to children]: How old are you
Off Screen Family Member: Tell them how old you are, how old are you
Daughter: 5
Daughter: 7
(01:40)
[cut to man being interviewed]
[Inaudible]
Man: The international community doesn’t recognize the problem in Sri Lanka… [inaudible] all groups within Canada should come together and work help people like this mother and children [inaudible]
[children playing]
(02:30)
[sobbing] I can’t leave. No one ever told me this would happen [sobbing]
(03:07)
Man: A mother just wants to work and raise her kids in a safe environment.
[background] Don’t wear your hat now.
(03:14)
Deported Woman: Come here…how did this situation happen? (inaudible) A mother can’t forget this [Sobbing]
(03:40)
Deported Woman: I honestly I can’t take it anymore. This shouldn’t have happened
(03:45)
[background] What is going to happen to the kids?
(03:48)
[background] These are Canadian children
(03:49)
[background] Okay but is there a plan to have them settle over there?
(04:26)
Don’t obstruct the camera view please…stay

Here is a rough version of the video with subtitles added. Credit to Nixon at Rexzile for taking care of the technical implementation.

Here’s an article going into more details about the case and a similar situation with a Mexican family – http://www.thestar.com/opinion/commentary/2014/02/07/deportation_of_mothers_fails_to_consider_best_interests_of_children.html#

Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tamil Mother of Two Deported: January 26th 2014

  1. Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information you present.
    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that
    isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Wonderful read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

Leave a Reply

